The study and appreciation of the life, works and times of Arnold Bennett

Arnold Bennett Book Prize 2020

Article Written:

Due to the Covid restrictions, it has been decided not to have a book prize for 2020. 

The Society will re commence the Prize in 2022 and will accept books written and published in 2020 and 2021.

Updates will be posted when available.

The Arnold Bennett Prize is an annual literary award which was instituted in 2017 as part of the Arnold Bennett 150th anniversary celebrations.  £500 is awarded to an author who lives or work in North Staffordshire and has published a book in the relevant year, or to the author of a book which features the region.

The winners:  

2017 – John Lancaster for his poetry collection Potters: A Division of Labour.

2018 – Jan Edwards for her novel Winter Downs.

2019 – Charlotte Higgins for Red Thread: On Mazes and Labrinths 

2020 – Lisa Blower for her story collection It’s Gone Dark Over Bill’s Mothers.

Further enquiries about the Prize should be directed to the Chair of the judging panel Morag Jones:

Share This Article