The study and appreciation of the life, works and times of Arnold Bennett


Members will receive a newsletter three times a year.  They can also contribute to the newsletter.

Membership runs from 1 September.

Memb form 2019 2020

February – We start the year with a talk at the Friends’ Meeting House, Newcastle under Lyme.  The 2019 talk was given by Professor Deborah Wynne (University of Chester) – ‘The Romance of the Shop: Life Behind the Counter in the Works of Arnold Bennett and H G Wells.  A report on the talk will appear in the next Society newsletter.


March – We have our annual dinner.  This year it will be held on 30 March 2019 at the Potbank Aparthotel, Stoke on Trent.  Our speaker will be Lord John Bird (Big Issue), the event is now fully booked.  Speakers have included Deborah Moggach, John Suchet, A N Wilson, Baroness Williams of Crosby (Shirley Williams), Theresa Heskins, artistic director at the New Victoria Theatre, Harshill, Alan Johnson MP and Charlotte Higgins (Journalist with the Guardian). We had a change of date for 2017 and celebrated AB’s 150 birthday on 27 May 2017 (his actual birthday) at the Jubilee Hall, Stoke on Trent.  the guest speaker was Mr Simon Heffer, writer and journalist with the Telegraph.


June – A one day conference is held at the North Staffs Conference Centre in Hartshill with speakers contributing papers on Arnold Bennett.  The 2019 conference title is “Arnold Bennett’s Non-Fiction“. Further details to follow.


October – Our 2019 AGM will be held on 19 October at Swan Bank Methodist Rooms, Burslem.  More details to follow.


December – A Literary Lunch is held the first week of December with a guest speaker.  Our 2018 speaker was Dr Jonathan Taylor (University of Leicester).  A report appeared in our January newsletter. The 2019 lunch is yet to be decided, details to follow.